Genchat Feb 14 2014 – Tech Tools for Genealogy

imageancestryjourneyFeb 15, 7:44am via TweetDeck

#genchat tonight! Let’s talk about technology as a tool for #genealogy! 9pm centralpic.twitter.com/G1Ct56IgN3

image

 

#genchat CHALLENGE: the Ultimate Genealogy Tech Tool of the Future!

Selected tweets in  the conversation .

..
imageConfKeepFeb 15, 2:01pm via TweetDeckQ1: For those who were at RT, did you find an amazing new tech tool you want to share?#genchat

imageDigiDeenaFeb 15, 2:04pm via TweetChat powered by oneQubeA1: I attended Randy Whited’s Advanced Metadata lab and learned some new tools #RootsTech#genchat

imagekmjordan73Feb 15, 2:02pm via tchat.ioA1: I learned about Google Glass….oooo – geeky!#genchat

imagerjseaverFeb 15, 2:05pm via Web
#genchat A1: did not find an amazing new tech tool to use, but saw several potential ones. Got better at Flipboard (not a genie tool)

imageAncestorQuestFeb 15, 2:06pm via TwubsRT @DrGranma A1: I learned that I can virtually attend some session even if I wasn’t there.#genchat

imagecaitieamandaFeb 15, 2:09pm via TwubsA1: I like Flipboard too. Have subscribed a to a few genealogy things on there. #genchat

 

imageConfKeepFeb 15, 2:08pm via TweetDeckQ2: What tech have you learned BECAUSE of#genealogy#genchat

imagerjseaverFeb 15, 2:08pm via Web@ancestryjourney thanks, I figured out the best way to get Flipboard consistent and all the pix showing – took 4 hours extra #genchat

imageDrGranmaFeb 15, 2:09pm via tchat.io
I am learning more about Evernote because of genealogy #genchat

imagejbron1jonesFeb 15, 2:10pm via TwubsA2 Yes, twitter and Evernote #genchat

imagemdiane_rogersFeb 15, 2:10pm via WebA2 Cloud storage – wouldn’t need it if I didn’t have all this #genealogy #stuff #genchat

imagekmjordan73Feb 15, 2:11pm via tchat.ioA2: Google groups are another tech item I started on because of #genealogy #genchat

imageTrippinORootsFeb 15, 2:12pm via tchat.io

A2 Mobile scanning apps and Evernote. Use them all the time now! #genchat

imagemslaceylooFeb 15, 2:12pm via TweetDeckA2: FEEDLY! I don’t know what I did without it…yes I do, I didn’t read blogs! #genchat

imageDigiDeenaFeb 15, 2:12pm via TweetChat powered by oneQubeMe too! RT @DrGranma I am learning more aboutEvernote because of genealogy #genchat

 

imagerjseaverFeb 15, 2:12pm via Web#genchat A2: tech learned because of genealogy – mobile apps on iOS and Android, Evernote, Camscanner, Dropbox, Feedly, Flipboard Pinterest

imageDigiDeenaFeb 15, 2:13pm via TweetChat powered by oneQube

A2: Google Communities for GenProofStudy#genchat

imagerjseaverFeb 15, 2:13pm via Web@AncestorQuest #genchat Flipboard is online web magazine – see my Randy at RootsTech mag (couldn’t resist plug!) atgeneamusings.com/2014/02/randy-…

imageSteelyGenesFeb 15, 2:13pm via HootSuiteA2. I’ve learned how to better contribute to Wikitree projects since doing more tech in genealogy#genchat

imageAnnepastsFeb 15, 2:13pm via tchat.ioA2: I have learned @ScrivenerApp and Scapple to help with writing about my family – love them#genchat

imageancestryjourneyFeb 15, 2:13pm via TweetDeck

A2: photoshop, A/V equipment, projectors…#genchat

 

imageGenealogyCircleFeb 15, 2:13pm via TwubsAbsolutely! @Ghyxion: Q2 The biggest advantage is that genea research has made me get out of my comfort zone / rut and try new tech #genchat

imageAnnepastsFeb 15, 2:15pm via tchat.io

A2: Learned to record with my ipod. And Audacity to edit audio recordings. #genchat

imageGenealogyCircleFeb 15, 2:17pm via Twubs

A2: I forgot Rebel Mouse, Feedly #genchat
imageDigiDeenaFeb 15, 2:14pm via TweetChat powered by oneQube

A2: I’ve learned to create WordPress websites for genealogical societies #genchat

imageAncestorQuestFeb 15, 2:23pm via Twubs

A2 Forgot Scrivener & Dropbox use both outside of #genealogy #genchat

imageConfKeepFeb 15, 2:14pm via TweetDeckQ3: Do you feel that you would use any of these without #genealogy#genchat

imagegeneapleauFeb 15, 2:15pm via tchat.io

A3 maybe Evernote, a little. #genchat

A3. I wouldn’t have got as organised with Google Plus and Wikitree and integrating Tumblr without#genchat

imagePendlePostFeb 15, 2:16pm via tchat.ioAbsolutely. I also use Google Keep RT @leprchaunrabbit: @ancestryjourney A3 Evernote is good for errand lists, appt reminders, etc#genchat


imageGenealogyCircleFeb 15, 2:16pm via TwubsA3: No . . . Flip Pal, Evernote, #genchat

imageSparrowBeth73Feb 15, 2:16pm via tchat.io

I was using email and internet before #genealogybut that’s about it since I got into genie early#genchat

imageAnnepastsFeb 15, 2:17pm via tchat.ioA3: NO. Wouldn’t have the motivation to persevere with learning all that new stuff. #genchat

imagehuboutourvilleFeb 15, 2:17pm via Twitter for iPhoneA3 — not as many tools, that’s for sure! #genchat

imageTrippinORootsFeb 15, 2:17pm via tchat.io

I agree! RT @DigiDeena: A3: I’ve always used technology, but for genealogy I use it in different ways #genchat

Show Conversation

imageGenealogyCircleFeb 15, 2:17pm via TwubsA3: Because of genealogy I’m ahead of my kids on lots of tech! #genchat

imageConfKeepFeb 15, 2:18pm via TweetDeckQ3, con: If you had to pick 1 tech item you use for#genealogy and carry it w/you in life, what would it be? Why? #genchat

imagerjseaverFeb 15, 2:18pm via Web

#genchat A3: sure, and used them for many facets of genealogy that I never dreamed of 5 years ago. Still looking for killer story/photo app

imagegeneapleauFeb 15, 2:18pm via tchat.ioA3 along these lines, I love what genealogy has done for my tech skill set #genchat
imagecaitieamandaFeb 15, 2:18pm via TwubsA3: Yeah, I’ve always used technology, being Gen Y & all, but I wouldn’t be using it the way I do now.#genchat

imageancestryjourneyFeb 15, 2:19pm via TweetDeck

@DrGranma RebelMouse is a platform that allows you to share from several social media sites at one time:rebelmouse.com/ancestryjourne… #genchat

Show Conversation

imagejbron1jonesFeb 15, 2:19pm via TwubsA3. I would for sure use Pinterest and clearly need to use Evernote more.
#genchat

imagegeneapleauFeb 15, 2:20pm via tchat.io

Yeah, this! RT @kmjordan73: A3, con: Smart phone, loaded with everything I can think of!#genchat

imageValsRootsFeb 15, 2:21pm via Tweet ButtonA3 con: Flipal because I don’t have to wait for mail I can go to them get photos instantly! I love my Flipal for family reunions! #genchat

imagerjseaverFeb 15, 2:21pm via Web#genchat Q3con: Probably Dropbox, which is useful outside of genealogy for backup and access to files.
imageTrippinORootsFeb 15, 2:21pm via tchat.io

Q3 con: my ipad. Has my scanner app, Evernote, email, family trees everything in one place!#genchat
imagebetsympls612Feb 15, 2:22pm via Tweetbot for Mac

A2: Oh! Oh! Oh! Thanks to everyone on here – I am mastering #evernote too! #genchat

imageHistorianaFeb 15, 2:22pm via TwubsA3 con: Software – blogging (I love that it documents research & stories) Hardware – Scanner (Preserving images & Sharing) #genchat

imagecaitieamandaFeb 15, 2:21pm via TwubsA3 con: I honestly do not know! That’s a hard one. Probably my phone I guess? Got everything on it…#genchat

imagecaitieamandaFeb 15, 2:23pm via Twubs

@ancestryjourney I don’t like pencils, lol.#genchat

 

imageTrippinORootsFeb 15, 2:23pm via tchat.ioThat is so analog of you! RT @ancestryjourney: A3, con: I think I would have to go with a pencil. I can do anything with a pencil. #genchat

imagecaitieamandaFeb 15, 2:25pm via Twubs@confusethedead I will happily use a pacer, just not a pencil please. 🙂 #genchat

imageSteelyGenesFeb 15, 2:26pm via HootSuite

A3. Genealogy tool to carry for life – would be @feedly #genchat #gentech

imagePendlePostFeb 15, 2:26pm via tchat.ioI use OneNote more than Evernote for genealogy RT @ancestryjourney: @nelleFamTree I actually use OneNote religiously… #genchat


imagecaitieamandaFeb 15, 2:25pm via Twubs@confusethedead I will happily use a pacer, just not a pencil please. 🙂 #genchat

imageConfKeepFeb 15, 2:27pm via TweetDeck

Q4: Do you think that the #genealogy world is overloaded with tech? Do we have too much to do the research effectively? #genchat

 
imagenelleFamTreeFeb 15, 2:28pm via tchat.io

A4: I’ve used very little. At times would like to learn more, but a bit overwhelmed and don’t even know where to start #genchat

imagekmjordan73Feb 15, 2:28pm via tchat.ioA4: However, not all tech is for everyone – pick and choose the tech that works for YOUR #genealogy(or whatever your purpose) #genchat

imageSeekingSurnamesFeb 15, 2:28pm via TweetDeckQ4: No. As with anything you need to manage it. No need to have all the bells and whistles, just the ones that work for you. #genchat

imagemamafoxFeb 15, 2:28pm via TweetDeckA4 absolutely not. Everyone has different needs and skills #genchat

imagebetsympls612Feb 15, 2:28pm via Tweetbot for Mac

A3 (cont’d) – I would have to say #evernote. It is so multifunctional and allows you to do so many different things. #genchat #ad

imagecaitieamandaFeb 15, 2:28pm via Twubs

A4: I don’t think so. #genchat

imageDrGranmaFeb 15, 2:28pm via tchat.ioA4: I think of the things I could not find from home w/o Tech. My grandparents parents from Romania #genchat

imageTrippinORootsFeb 15, 2:28pm via tchat.ioQ4: No, but if you try to rely on technology to do all of your genealogy for you … you will be overloaded!! #genchat

imageCarolinaGirlGenFeb 15, 2:28pm via tchat.io

A:4 No there is something for everyone. Just need to make sure we are spending time researching and not just playing with the tech! #genchat

2 retweets

imageGenealogyCircleFeb 15, 2:28pm via TwubsI agree @Bevno59
Q4 NO way! We choose what tech fits us and use that #genchat

 

imageHistorianaFeb 15, 2:29pm via Twubs

A4: Plus, I think we all gravitate toward the tools that feel the most comfortable. Which helps cull the tech herd. #genchat

imageDigiDeenaFeb 15, 2:29pm via TweetChat powered by oneQubeA4: There are too many disparate repositories to store all our stuff: photos, documents, texts, lists, etc. #genchat

imagerjseaverFeb 15, 2:29pm via Web#genchat A4: Not for me, I pick and choose tech I want to use. Bring it on. For 95% of genies, they are overwhelmed and confused.

1 retweets

imageconfusethedeadFeb 15, 2:29pm via tchat.ioA4. NO WAY..#rhodeisland#lostinthedocumenttrail they are not online much.. LOVE other places and info I can find online#genealogy #genchat

imageHistorianaFeb 15, 2:29pm via TwubsA4: Plus, I think we all gravitate toward the tools that feel the most comfortable. Which helps cull the tech herd. #genchat

imageDigiDeenaFeb 15, 2:29pm via TweetChat powered by oneQube

A4: There are too many disparate repositories to store all our stuff: photos, documents, texts, lists, etc. #genchat

1 retweets

imagerjseaverFeb 15, 2:29pm via Web#genchat A4: Not for me, I pick and choose tech I want to use. Bring it on. For 95% of genies, they are overwhelmed and confused.

1 retweets

imageconfusethedeadFeb 15, 2:29pm via tchat.ioA4. NO WAY..#rhodeisland#lostinthedocumenttrail they are not online much.. LOVE other places and info I can find online#genealogy #genchat

@rjseaver I love new tech toys. Can’t imagine getting that overwhelmed so as not to use them.#genchat

 

imagewychwoodnzFeb 15, 2:30pm via TweetChat powered by oneQubeQ4 no – the tech enhances the research experience. So far, at least! #genchat

imageDigiDeenaFeb 15, 2:30pm via TweetChat powered by oneQubeA4: There is no single repository that can hold everything in all formats. This causes problems for many folks. #genchat

imagebetsympls612Feb 15, 2:30pm via Tweetbot for MacA4: I don’t know if it’s TOO much but it’s hard to sift through what is good and useful and what isn’t so good and you should skip #genchat

imagellawson3967Feb 15, 2:30pm via Web

@rjseaver I love new tech toys. Can’t imagine getting that overwhelmed so as not to use them.#genchat

 

imagewychwoodnzFeb 15, 2:30pm via TweetChat powered by oneQubeQ4 no – the tech enhances the research experience. So far, at least! #genchat

imageDigiDeenaFeb 15, 2:30pm via TweetChat powered by oneQubeA4: There is no single repository that can hold everything in all formats. This causes problems for many folks. #genchat

imagebetsympls612Feb 15, 2:30pm via Tweetbot for MacA4: I don’t know if it’s TOO much but it’s hard to sift through what is good and useful and what isn’t so good and you should skip #genchat

imagellawson3967Feb 15, 2:30pm via Web

@rjseaver I love new tech toys. Can’t imagine getting that overwhelmed so as not to use them.#genchat

imagewychwoodnzFeb 15, 2:30pm via TweetChat powered by oneQube

Q4 no – the tech enhances the research experience. So far, at least! #genchat

imageDigiDeenaFeb 15, 2:30pm via TweetChat powered by oneQubeA4: There is no single repository that can hold everything in all formats. This causes problems for many folks. #genchat

imagebetsympls612Feb 15, 2:30pm via Tweetbot for MacA4: I don’t know if it’s TOO much but it’s hard to sift through what is good and useful and what isn’t so good and you should skip #genchat

imagePendlePostFeb 15, 2:31pm via tchat.io

Agree RT @huboutourville: A4 I like the idea that we try new stuff and choose whatever suits our needs #genchat

 

imageHistorianaFeb 15, 2:31pm via Twubs

@mslaceyloo I admit I still rely on paper files as a back-up. And sometimes it’s more convenient!#genchat

imagegeneapleauFeb 15, 2:31pm via tchat.io

A4 what tech can never replace: a discerningmind! #genchat

1 retweets

imagemslaceylooFeb 15, 2:31pm via TweetDeck@GenealogyCircle I agree with you, Cindy. It’s also difficult for me to carry heavy tablets, laptops,etc. @SeekingSurnames #genchat

 

imageAnnepastsFeb 15, 2:32pm via tchat.io

A4: It is important not to get distracted with tech for the sake of it. Make sure it is useful. #genchat

imagealhupartuFeb 15, 2:32pm via TweetChat powered by oneQubeA4: No, for those just starting out it is very helpful. I try not to be too dependent on tech and believing everything is online. #genchat

 

imageancestryjourneyFeb 15, 2:33pm via TweetDeck

RT @rjseaver: @llawson3967 #genchat in mylocal society, 20% don’t have email, 50% don’t have smart phones, only 5% use internet every day

imageancestryjourneyFeb 15, 2:33pm via TweetDeck

. @rjseaver Do you think they want to learn, Randy, or intentionally avoid it all? #genchat

 

imageSteelyGenesFeb 15, 2:34pm via HootSuite

A4 No – technologies a llows you to achieve so much more when you are in Australia and your ancestors came from UK Ireland USA #genchat

imagellawson3967Feb 15, 2:34pm via Web@alhupartu There is so much NOT on line. No false sense of security. You must go to the courthouses, historical societies and more#genchat
imagerjseaverFeb 15, 2:35pm via Web

@ancestryjourney #genchat some want to learn, but learning curve is steep. Need basic genealogy concepts, then software, then databases etc

1 retweetsShow Conversation

imagecaitieamandaFeb 15, 2:35pm via Twubs

RT @SteelyGenes A4 No – technologies allow you to achieve so much more when you are in Australia and your ancestors came from UK..#genchat

imageSparrowBeth73Feb 15, 2:35pm via tchat.ioThere is A LOT NOT online, especially in smaller towns & states. Still must use phone & snail mail occasionally. #genchat

imagemamafoxFeb 15, 2:35pm via TweetDeck

I can’t afford to travel to get to the courthouses and places that have some of the records I need so for now online is it for me #genchat
imageValsRootsFeb 15, 2:36pm via Tweet Button

.@mamafox – that’s when an envelope and stamp comes in handy! gotten many records for even the cost of a 10 cent copy! #genchat

imagewychwoodnzFeb 15, 2:36pm via TweetChat powered by oneQubeAnd thanks to tech it’s easier to find out what else might be out there RT @llawson3967 There is so much NOT on line. #genchat

imagemslaceylooFeb 15, 2:36pm via TweetDeck

@mamafox That’s one of the reasons why I’ve developed friendships w/people all over. I have people that would get what I need #genchat

 

imagefamberrytreeFeb 15, 2:36pm via Twitter for iPhoneA4: Tech can be overwhelming for some, thats why it needs to be simple and not try to do too many things. #genchat

imagemamafoxFeb 15, 2:36pm via TweetDeckWe’re blessed to have some very tech savvy genealogist in our society #genchat

imagegeneapleauFeb 15, 2:37pm via tchat.io

A4, con: maybe not wrong’ but undeveloped#genchat

imageleprchaunrabbitFeb 15, 2:37pm via tchat.ioA4 Not necessarily; it’s preference and demand/needs #genchat

imageHistorianaFeb 15, 2:37pm via Twubs

Fun society factoid: We had a member who got mad at us for sending out e-mails after Wednesday – she only checks them on Wednesday! #genchat

imageConfKeepFeb 15, 2:37pm via TweetDeckQ4, con: So if we don’t have too much tech, do we have the wrong tech? #genchat #genealogy

1 retweets

imagemamafoxFeb 15, 2:37pm via TweetDeck@mslaceyloo I’m too uncomfortable to ask those kinds of favors #genchat

 

imageDrGranmaFeb 15, 2:38pm via tchat.io

Q4: Important point!!! Evaluating the quality of the tech for doing the job you need done. #genchat
imageValsRootsFeb 15, 2:38pm via Tweet Button

A4 con: If you let the tech get in the way of doing *the* research and attaining the goal of getting an original record #genchat

imageSparrowBeth73Feb 15, 2:39pm via tchat.io

A4 cont: I think we may have a few too much social media. I refuse to join Pinterest becuz don’t want it sucking away more time #genchat

imageDigiDeenaFeb 15, 2:39pm via TweetChat powered by oneQubeA4: There is no silver bullet with tech. There are always pros, cons, and opportunity costs.#genchat

imagemslaceylooFeb 15, 2:39pm via TweetDeckQ4: I worry sometimes if we’re trying to reinvent the wheel by having too much of the same. Make it worth my hard earned $$$ #genchat

imageHistorianaFeb 15, 2:39pm via TwubsA4 con: No. I think tech for #genealogy is developing along a good pace. But it is a work in progress. #genchat

 

imageDrGranmaFeb 15, 2:40pm via tchat.io

Q4: much like in Teaching with tec.- the tech should serve the learning; techology is one of mant tools & must serve the genealogy. #genchat

imagekmjordan73Feb 15, 2:40pm via tchat.ioA4, con: Sometimes – we are always looking for BETTER tech – but it keeps the tech folks employed (Thank you!) #genchat

imageDrGranmaFeb 15, 2:42pm via tchat.io

Q$: I wonder what you all are finding the best back up… cloud?, where else? #genchat

imageConfKeepFeb 15, 2:42pm via TweetDeckQ4, con: If you could change 1 tech tool that you use… how would you change it and why?#genchat #genealogy

1 retweets

imageDigiDeenaFeb 15, 2:42pm via TweetChat powered by oneQube@rjseaver I know what you mean. I attend many daytime gen societies and am usually the youngest by 3 decades. #genchat

Show Conversation

imageSteelyGenesFeb 15, 2:42pm via HootSuiteA4. It’s good to have a few different tools in case one dies eg look at Delicious Posterous GoogleReader over past 3 years #genchat

 
imageleprchaunrabbitFeb 15, 2:43pm via tchat.io

A4 Give it voice recognition! #genchat

imageSparrowBeth73Feb 15, 2:43pm via tchat.ioA4 cont: Stitching images w/ FlipPal is ridiculously slow. Somehow make that better, faster & not have to delete images to do it #genchat

imagerjseaverFeb 15, 2:43pm via Web#genchat the tech lets me do routine things faster – email, blogreader, dropbox, camera, icloud, etc. so I can do more research work.

imagekmjordan73Feb 15, 2:43pm via tchat.ioA4, con: Have all the bug reports I’ve sent toAncestry.com fixed? #genchat

 
imageDigiDeenaFeb 15, 2:44pm via TweetChat powered by oneQube

@famberrytree A better way to cite sources and organize evidence into conclusions #genchat

 
geneapleau

geneapleau: A4, con : have FlipPal scan in TIFF #genchat2:44pm, Feb 15 from tchat.io
imageancestryjourneyFeb 15, 2:44pm via TweetDeck

I want a tree program that allows me to input anything – not just direct lines. I want social history recorded. #genchat

imageDigiDeenaFeb 15, 2:44pm via TweetChat powered by oneQube@DrGranma Cloud is great backup, but if you have lots of data it can be expensive or slow#genchat

Show Conversation

imagegeneapleauFeb 15, 2:44pm via tchat.ioA4, con : have FlipPal scan in TIFF #genchat

imagerjseaverFeb 15, 2:44pm via Web@famberrytree sync with my software…I add all info to RootsMagic and don’t want to upload GEDCOM every time I change something#genchat
imageTrippinORootsFeb 15, 2:45pm via tchat.io

Have you looked at Evidentia RT @DigiDeena: @famberrytree A better way to cite sources and organize evidence into conclusions #genchat
ancestryjourney

ancestryjourney: @geneapleau Woah. You just blew my mind. It doesn’t to TIFF? So not getting one now. #genchat2:45pm, Feb 15 from TweetDeck
imageGhyxionFeb 15, 2:45pm via tchat.io

At least let us choose RT @geneapleau: A4, con : have FlipPal scan in TIFF #genchat

1 retweetsShow Conversation

imageSparrowBeth73Feb 15, 2:45pm via tchat.io@geneapleau Or be able to choose format in FlipPal #genchat

imageHistorianaFeb 15, 2:45pm via TwubsA4 con: BUGS! I get so frustrated by programs I have used for years that never address some bugs that never get fully resolved. #genchat

geneapleaugeneapleau: A4, con : have FlipPal scan inTIFF #genchat2:44pm, Feb 15 from tchat.io

ancestryjourneyancestryjourney: @geneapleau Woah. You just blew my mind. It doesn’t to TIFF? So not getting one now. #genchat2:45pm, Feb 15 from TweetDeck

imageancestryjourneyFeb 15, 2:46pm via TweetDeck

@WikiTreers Right, but I need it offline, too.#genchat

Show Conversation

imageWikiTreersFeb 15, 2:46pm via Web@ancestryjourney #genchat It’s not software, it’s online but WikiTree encourages social history. We have projects dedicated to it!

imageancestryjourneyFeb 15, 2:47pm via TweetDeck

I want it all in 1 package. Combine the best of fam tree programs with excel, photoshop, word, OneNote and more all mixed in #genchat

imageDrGranmaFeb 15, 2:47pm via tchat.io

@confusethedead me,too. At IAJGS2013 lots of discussion of importance of social history.#genchat

Show Conversation

imagerjseaverFeb 15, 2:47pm via Web#genchat software/app I really want? A mindreader so I don’t have to waste time typing blog posts…scary that. Probably a year or two off

imageHistorianaFeb 15, 2:47pm via Twubs

A4 con: Oh yeah, and super fast scanners. And unlimited storage space. And free global wi-fi!#soundinglikedrevil #muwahaha #genchat

DigiDeenaDigiDeena: @ancestryjourney@geneapleau FlipPal scans at 600dpi JPG#genchat2:47pm, Feb 15 from TweetChat powered by oneQube

 
imageGhyxionFeb 15, 2:47pm via tchat.io

@geneapleau I can convert them off-line but it would be nice if I could choose when I get ready for Flip-Pal #genchat

DigiDeenaDigiDeena: @ancestryjourney@geneapleau FlipPal scans at 600dpi JPG#genchat2:47pm, Feb 15 from TweetChat powered by oneQube

ancestryjourneyancestryjourney: @DigiDeena@geneapleau Sorry, gotta’ have my TIFF. 😦#genchat2:48pm, Feb 15 from TweetDeck

imageSteelyGenesFeb 15, 2:48pm via HootSuite

@WikiTreers #genchat I am a wikitree user but did find doing the project categories needed a bit of working out & I’m fairly techo literate

 

ancestryjourneyancestryjourney: @DigiDeena@geneapleau Sorry, gotta’ have my TIFF. 😦#genchat2:48pm, Feb 15 from TweetDeck
imageancestryjourneyFeb 15, 2:48pm via TweetDeck

I want it to have a research log, research plan for road trips that syncs w/google maps so I can find a Starbucks… #genchat
imageancestryjourneyFeb 15, 2:49pm via TweetDeck

I don’t want to have to have 17 programs open when I’m at the courthouse. I want it all in one.#notaskingmuch #genchat

caitieamandacaitieamanda: @ancestryjourney What’s the difference between TIFF & JPG anyway?#genchat2:49pm, Feb 15 from Twubs

imageSeekingSurnamesFeb 15, 2:49pm via TweetDeck

@rjseaver Evernote Speech to Text feature at least gets you out some of the typing. You need to format, but every little bit helps! #genchat

Show Conversation

imagekmjordan73Feb 15, 2:49pm via tchat.io@caitieamanda JPG is a compressed, lossy format. TIFF is not. TIFF takes up more space, though. #genchat

imageancestryjourneyFeb 15, 2:51pm via TweetDeck

Any of you ever heard @DJoshuaTaylor talk on research trips? He takes weeks to prep. Why can’t I have that in my software? #genchat
imageDrGranmaFeb 15, 2:50pm via tchat.io

the size of the file… jpg is smaller. Tiff has more pixcels and is better for editing, resizing etc#genchat

SparrowBeth73SparrowBeth73: @kmjordan73 Yes & FlipPal only provides a 2GB card which u can’t even fill completely UGG #genchat2:50pm, Feb 15 from tchat.io

DigiDeenaDigiDeena: @ancestryjourney@geneapleau I scan all my archival photos at TIFF 1200dpi which produces ridiculously large files! #genchat2:51pm, Feb 15 from TweetChat powered by oneQube

SteelyGenes

SteelyGenes: @SparrowBeth73 #genchat I attended unlock the past in Sydney Australia yesterday – they said you can use a 32gb sd card in Flip Pal2:52pm, Feb 15 from HootSuite

kmjordan73: @SteelyGenes Yes – FlipPal can take larger cards than the 2GB that comes with it – backup the stitching SW on your computer! #genchat

HistorianaHistoriana: @DigiDeena Holy crap! 600dpi tif is archival quality, but I like as big as you can get. What scanner do you use? Somethingfast? #genchat2:53pm, Feb 15 from Twubs

 

imageSparrowBeth73Feb 15, 2:53pm via tchat.io

@ancestryjourney @SteelyGenes Good. I’ll prob use an 8 GB but program won’t work if you fill it too full #genchat
imageSteelyGenesFeb 15, 2:54pm via HootSuite

A4 @ancestryjourney #genchat we did 10000 mile trip to north tip of Australia last year and visited relatives – I used google maps and excel
imageConfKeepFeb 15, 2:54pm via TweetDeck

#genchat CHALLENGE! In 1000 words or less, describe the ULTIMATE #genealogy tech tool of the future. Blog it, share it. #loveit

imageDigiDeenaFeb 15, 2:55pm via TweetChat powered by oneQube

@Historiana I have a Kodak PS410 sheet-fed scanner that can do up to 45 photos per minute, but more like 10 when doing TIFF #genchat

imageleprchaunrabbitFeb 15, 2:55pm via Tweet Button

CHALLENGE ANSWER: A phone app that does it all: type, cite, research, scan, blog, mindread with voice of @DJoshuaTaylor (Done!) #genchat

DigiDeena

DigiDeena: @Historiana I have a Kodak PS410 sheet-fed scanner that can do up to 45photos per minute, but more like 10 when doing TIFF #genchat2:55pm, Feb 15 from TweetChat powered by oneQube
imageConfKeepFeb 15, 2:59pm via TweetDeck

Friday night #genchat: Feb 28: NARA Across the States…. should be good! #genealogyconferencekeeper.net/genchat-2014.h…

ConfKeep

ConfKeep: @ValsRoots Very welcome. Next lesson: hootsuite. #genchat2:59pm, Feb 15 from TweetDeck


image
SteelyGenesFeb 15, 3:00pm via HootSuite

@ConfKeep I love Hootsuite – been using it for 5 years – great tool #genchat

imagerjseaverFeb 15, 3:00pm via Web

is #genchat over already? that was fast. Whew. So i’ll stay awake tonight thinking about what I want in Genea-Office program.

 

imagegeneapleauFeb 15, 3:01pm via tchat.io

 

Can’t wait to read the homework blog posts!#genchat

 

DigiDeena

DigiDeena: I put a bunch of #RootsTechresources on my website athttp://t.co/qkmJ6tsRP0 #genchat3:01pm, Feb 15 from TweetChat powered by oneQube

imageSteelyGenesFeb 15, 3:03pm via HootSuite

@famberrytree Helen V Smith aka @HVSresearch will be there at WDYTYA – speaking on researching military history of ancestors #genchat

Hide conversation

famberrytreefamberrytree: If anyone is going to be at the WDYTYA? Live conference in London next week, come and say hi. #genchat3:01pm, Feb 15 from Twitter for iPhone

SteelyGenesSteelyGenes: @famberrytree Helen V Smith aka @hvsresearch will be there at WDYTYA – speaking on researching military history of ancestors #genchat

Tonight’s #genchat challenge is LIVE!ancestralbreezes.blogspot.com/2014/02/gencha… #genealogy
imageWAGS_WAFeb 15, 5:37pm via Web

@geneabloggers kicking off on You use WHAT for genealogy @WAGS_WA & others looking forward to tips on use for unusual tools @statelibrarywa

 
imageancestryjourneyFeb 15, 7:40pm via NetworkedBlogs

#genchat CHALLENGE: the Ultimate Genealogy Tech Tool of the Future! nblo.gs/TPiaf

About Kerrie Anne Christian

Interests - Travel, Photography, Developing Websites, Social Media, Writing, Local History, Researcher, Genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

